2017-2018 Trustees

Patrick Shaw, President
Brian Lawlor, Vice President
Kevin Harmon, Treasurer
Leslie Noland, Secretary
Mark Beaudoin, Past President

Tom Bachner             Taylor Baldwin
Cheryl Bundy             Tara Burke
Kai Bynum                  Virginia Cargill
Sheila Clancy              Terilyn Esse              
Simon Fenner             Sunil Garga              
Lauren Kelly-Weiss    Sandra Lugar            
Kim Meier                    Rob Russo                 
Jim Vose                       Annie Zimmerli-Haskel
Independent schools like FCDS are non-profit organizations and are therefore governed by a volunteer Board of Trustees. Members of the Board of Trustees play an important part in the management of the school. Their key responsibilities include:

• Determine the school’s vision, mission, values, and purpose.
• Select and support the head of school, assessing his performance annually.
• Ensure effective organizational planning and adequate resources to carry out the school’s strategic plan.
• Exercise fiduciary responsibility and oversight.
• Maintain accountability and ensure legal and ethical integrity.
• Work with the head of school to determine, monitor, and strengthen the school's programs and services, and enhance the school's public standing.
• Recruit and orient new board members and assess board performance.

Every trustee is responsible for the financial well-being of the school and therefore has a basic knowledge of its fiscal status. The Board as a whole makes all major funding decisions, such as approving the yearly operating budget, setting tuition, adopting financial policies, and agreeing to undertake a fundraising campaign and setting its goal.

Boards of Trustees typically are structured into committees, to carry out specific tasks in partnership with the School leadership staff. At FCDS, the Executive Committee is comprised of the President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, and Past President. Other committees include Governance, Development, Investment, Finance, Audit, Building and Grounds, Diversity, and Marketing/Admissions. Trustees are elected to serve three-year terms. The Board meets eight times during the school year, and holds an annual meeting to update the community on their efforts on behalf of the school.


2970 Bronson Road, Fairfield, CT 06824
Phone: 203.259.2723  |  Fax: 203.259.3249